Click here to edit subtitle


The VAS Singapore Open Volleyball Championship is the most important national volleyball event in Singapore established by the VAS (Volleyball Association of Singapore).

The VAS Singapore Open Volleyball Championship shall be held every year to determine the country’s best volleyball team.

Previously, a similar event, Pesta Sukan Volleyball Championship was held annually.

Since 2010, the council of VAS has decided to rename this event, as well as making the event a more challenging and interesting competition.

Competition Formula

The 2013 edition of SG OPEN Volleyball Championship will be held from 20-Jul-2013 to 01-Sep-2013. This year the SG OPEN will feature 24 teams for Men and 16 teams for Women. The 24/16 teams will split into 6/4 pools of 4 teams in 2 rounds respectively. Each team will play 6 games in the Preliminary Rounds.


In Round 1, the teams will play a round robin system; based on the VAS Team Ranking, team will be automatically distribute into each pool. If there's any ranked team not participating, the next ranked team will supersede. If there's two or more teams with the same ranking, the teams will draw lot to determine which pool they belong to. For any new team that is not ranked in VAS Team Ranking system, the team will only able to participate is there's a empty lot available upon the closing date.


In Round 2, the teams will play a round robin system. The 6 ranked teams of VAS Premium Cup will be seeded. The rest of the teams will be re-distribute into the pools by drawing lot. Teams already meet in Round 1 will not be distribute into the same pool again. If any of the seeded team did not participate, the pool will then have no seeded team.


Following the 2 Preliminary Rounds, the Top 12/8 teams will qualify for the Final Round. The results will be determined as follow:



The ranking of teams is determined by the number of points obtained, in accordance with the following paragraphs.



The following points will be awarded per match to each team:

  • 3 point = Match won 3-0 or 3-1
  • 2 point = Match won 3-2
  • 1 point = Match lost 2-3
  • 0 point = Match lost 0-3 or 1-3

Match forfieted i.e. walkover will be consider losing the match 0-25, 0-25, 0-25.



  1. Number of Victories = In case of equality of ranking points gained by two or more teams, they will be classified in descending order by the number of matches won.
  2. Set quotient = In the case of equality in the number of matches won by two or several teams, they will be classified in descending order by the quotient resulting from the division of the number of all sets won by the number of all sets lost.
  3. Points quotient = If the tie persists as per the set quotient (ii) the teams will be classified in descending order by the quotient resulting from the division of all points scored by the total of points lost during all sets.
  4. If the tie continues as per the point quotient (iii) between two teams, the priority will be given to the team which won the last match between them. When the tie in point quotient is between three or more teams, a new classification of these teams in the terms of (i), (ii) and (iii) will be made taking into consideration only the matches in which they were opposed to each other.

    The Final round will be played in a single knock out system. Team being knock out depending on the stage will play 5th to 8th placing accordingly.